High Data-Rate Macromolecular Crystallography (HDRMX) Meeting



Fotongatan 2 225 92 Lund Sweden

The 4th High Data-Rate Macromolecular Crystallography (HDRMX) Meeting

The organizers warmly invite you to attend this meeting at the MAX IV Laboratory in Lund Sweden, 15-17 March, 2017. The meeting will be held in conjunction to the MAX IV User meeting(UM17) in Lund Sweden, 13-15 March, 2017.

This is the fourth in a series of meetings that began in spring 2016 on changes needed to existing major software packages for support of very high data rate macromolecular crystallography.  The first HDRMX meeting was held at Brookhaven National Laboratory, 26 – 28 May 2016, the second meeting held at an informal dinner gathering at the meeting of the American Crystallographic Association in Denver Colorado, 22 – 26 July 2016.  The third meeting was held at Biozentrum in Basel on 2 September 2016.

It was the unanimous conclusion of the participants in the Basel meeting that the most workable approach to handling both compression issues and data volume issues is as follows:

  1. Dectris is only responsible for providing the currently specified HDF5 FileWriter output and the streaming interface; and
  2. The beamlines are responsible for processing the streaming interface to other formats;
  3. But what should be archived or distributed should be NXmx compliant

Therefore the agenda for this fourth meeting will focus on tools and approaches to efficient processing of streamed images, including handling of regions of interest, compression, binning and summing.

To learn more details of the background and previous meetings, please visit the hdrmx.medsbio.org website.



Herbert J. Bernstein, Rochester Institute of Technology (co-chair)

Jie Nan, The MAX IV Laboratory (co-chair, local organizer)

Uwe Mueller, The MAX IV Laboratory (local organizer)

Jean Jakoncic, Brookhaven National Laboratory

Nicholas K. Sauter, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Robert M. Sweet, Brookhaven National Laboratory

Sean McSweeney, Brookhaven National Laboratory

Andreas Förster (Dectris, Ltd.)



Herbert J. Bernstein

Jie Nan (Local contact)

  • Andreas Förster
  • Andrej Babic
  • Artur Barczyk
  • Christopher Söderberg
  • Chun Hong (Chuck) Yoon
  • Claus Flensburg
  • Clemens Vonrhein
  • Dave Hall
  • David Aragao
  • David von Stetten
  • Gerard Bricogne
  • Gleb Bourenkov
  • Graeme Winter
  • Herbert J. Bernstein
  • Ivars Karpics
  • jean jakoncic
  • Jean Jakoncic
  • Jie Nan
  • Johan Unge
  • Jun Aishima
  • Justyna Wojdyla
  • Jörg Schwenke
  • Karine Röwer
  • Katherine McAuley
  • Kay Diederichs
  • Keitaro Yamashita
  • Mads Beich-Frandsen
  • Marina Nikolova
  • Mark Hilgart
  • Martin Moche
  • Martin Savko
  • Robert Lizatovic
  • Stefan Brandstetter
  • Thomas Eriksson
  • Thomas Ursby
  • Tobias Richter
  • Tom Caradoc-Davies
  • Ulrik Pedersen
  • Uwe Müller
  • Vincent Hardion
  • William SHEPARD
  • Zdenek Matej
  • Zheng-Qing (Albert) Fu
  • Wednesday, 15 March
    • 13:30 13:35
    • 15:00 15:30
      Coffe Break 30m
    • 17:00 18:00
      Tour of MAX IV
    • 18:00 19:00
      Dinner Restaurang Godset

      Restaurang Godset